The MOTOACTV might be a killer biohacker device.

The MOTOACTV seems super awesome.  

Specs are off the hook.  600MHZ processor.  256MB of RAM, and 8GB of flash storage

And for connectivity it includes GPS, 802.11B/G/N, Bluetooth 4.0, Ant+, FM tuner.

It MAY include some sort of cellular connection but I can’t figure this part out.

… and it’s been rooted.

It’s been a dream of mine for a while now to have 24/7 sensor data for my biohacking activities.

Heart rate, body temperature, would be two good applications.

I can record the data on my phone and either spool it to the SD card or stream it right to the cloud.

NOT having to ever sync is VERY important.

The one downside is that this data wouldn’t necessarily work with applications like Runkeeper, Fitocracy, etc.  

But having a device like this running Linux which is nearly ALMOST part of your body and connected 24/7 is pretty darn cool.

If I can get a good device like this that I can hack that has topomaps I won’t need to by a Garmin GPS for backpacking.

I also think it would be a major leap technologically for me personally.

I would essentially become a practical self-hackable cyborg.  Having a Linux device physically attached to me and monitoring my data would have a lot of interesting applications.