Three Branches of InnoDB Development

It dawned on me today that there are now three independent branches of InnoDB development. Some might call them forks but it appears they are all friendly forks.

Hopefully they will merge at some point.

From what I see we have:

1. The official MySQL sources.

2. The InnoDB 5.1 plugin

3. The Google patches that enable faster multi-core performance due to mutex lock re-implementation

CPU utilization was the biggest issue we saw with InnoDB performance in our SSD tests. If we can get this fixed SSD will probably be a bit faster than MyISAM.

My question is what sources is the InnoDB 5.1 branch based?

Does it have the latest InnoDB performance fixes that went into 5.0.30 and 5.0.54?

%d bloggers like this: