Video from March 20th 2003 Protests in San Francisco

Warning. This is a bit disturbing.

You can read more about this incident from Lisa Rein’s blog.

I remember watching the local news the night after the 2003 protests and hearing the police describe violence created by protesters. There might have been isolated violence but the only trouble I saw was caused by the SFPD.

I’m sure the SFPD does a great job in San Francisco. I’m sure they help a lot of people. I’m sure they’ve had their shining moments – this wasn’t one of them.

You can hear my voice in the background at one part. I was telling an officer that he didn’t have to abuse people as part of his job. That if he had ethical objections that he could just go home. I could see by the look in his eye that he didn’t want to be there.

Unfortunately, I had to raise my voice to get over the noise of the crowd so in hindsight I sound a bit hostile. However, it’s hard to keep a clear head and talk with a low voice when the police are randomly attacking people around you and people are screaming.

At the end of the video you can see a cop hit a woman with his baton. She was trying to explain to the officer that her boyfriend they were arresting had nothing to do with the protest. They were simply walking down the street in San Francisco on 4th and Market when the police grabbed him and pulled him into the street.

In part of the video you can see the police storming the sidewalk grabbing random people. This is when he was caught up and pulled into the intersection.

Later, Lisa and I talked to her and she was on her way to the hospital to see if her arm was broken.



