Why NOT to Use MySQL

A few MySQL-planeters linked to this article describing 14 reasons not to use MySQL.

Honestly, I can’t figure out why. The article is poorly written and not very convincing.

Most of the 14 reasons aren’t arguments AGAINST MySQL as much as they’re arguments for considering use of another database.

He ends with something I just had to disagree with:

Nobody you know ever got fired for recommending a traditional, over-engineered computing platform.

This really needs to be considered a logical fallacy in our industry.

If you spend $250k on Oracle license for an application that could have been deployed on MySQL I think you probably need to be fired.

Does it really make sense to pay for features you’re NOT going to use?

There are plenty of reasons to not use MySQL – it’s just that this isn’t one of them.

In fact, I might just come up with a top 10 list later today.


  1. rpbouman

    Hi Kevin,

    “Honestly, I can’t figure out why. The article is poorly written and not very convincing.”

    I dunno why I reacted – apparently the article was destined to piss me off.

    “Most of the 14 reasons aren’t arguments AGAINST MySQL as much as they’re arguments for considering use of another database.”

    Exactly, and the things that do have a direct relationship with the MySQL are factually wrong.

    “If you spend $250k on Oracle license for an application that could have been deployed on MySQL I think you probably need to be fired.”

    Hear hear ;)

    “There are plenty of reasons to not use MySQL – it’s just that this isn’t one of them. In fact, I might just come up with a top 10 list later today.”

    Coming from somebody with your background and standing I am sure that that list is going to be one worth serious consideration. I’m looking forward to see your list.

    Thanks Kevin, and kind regards

    Roland Bouman
    http://rpbouman.blogspot.com/






