MySQL At Odds with the Community?

Dathan is all of a sudden in love with MySQL:

MySQL is by far the best Open source Database on the planet-support reflects that fact. I highly recommend getting a support contract to trouble shoot issues that make it into production, less learning the entire mysql code base and doing it yourself. (I know alot about the code-base but the 5 issues I am tracking was to much for me to debug alone. On top of that I don’t know enough of the code base to make fixes to some of the bugs.)

I haven’t seen the need to purchase a support agreement. I think it makes more sense to buy incident based support.

Of the failures we’ve see, they’ve all been fairly well documented.

That said, I agree with Don MacAskill is saying:

In fact, as I mentioned already, I probably wouldn’t pay for MySQL as it stands today. I paid for it in the hopes that, as a paying customer, my feedback that these patches (and others like them) are vital would be listened to. Thus far, it hasn’t.

I could care less about MySQL’s desire to keep their released, supported software dual-licensed (commercial and GPL). I don’t consider our Enterprise subscription to be for the software – mentally, I’m paying for service and support. And the support (fixing InnoDB’s concurrency problems) is increasingly at odds with the business (releasing a commerical binary-only Enterprise release). But they’re on a collision course – I’m not the only one who will stop paying for it, resulting in damage to MySQL’s business.

The features that MySQL is shipping in 5.0, 5.1, and 6.0 are not reflective of what I would prioritize as a company either.

I wouldn’t pay for them. I’d easily pay for a version of MySQL that had these patches and prioritized a version of MySQL for startups that are trying to squeeze every ounce of performance from their machines.

The RedHatization of MySQL has been happening for a while and it concerns me. Hopefully, Sun will push MySQL back in the direction of the community and we can move forward again.

Either that or I think there might be a real need for a ultra-high performance forked version of MySQL which is maintained by the community (and potentially merged with MySQL).



