Ergotron Desk Laptop Mount

I bought an Ergotron desktop mount for my laptop the other day and finally had time to install it last night.

Here’s my resulting setup:

200801101435-1

So far I’m pretty happy with the results. The hardware was pretty affordable – $150 with shipping.

It allows me to keep my laptop closer, and at eye level, and I actually have my mouse under my laptop which is a bit confusing at times.

The only pet peeve I have is that occasionally the laptop can shake while Im typing. I wish they had a screw tightening system so that I could fix the arm in one position at the hinge to prevent it moving while I type.

I haven’t fully figured out what I want to do with the second display. Sometimes it’s nice to play an old DVD like Star Wars while I hack on code. It would also be nice to have some sort of just in time source code visualization.

I’m also going to have to upgrade to the 30″ LCD soon which should be interesting as well.


  1. albertane

    My name is Riley McArdle and I work for Ergotron.

    I just wanted to thank you for your excellent review of our product. I also wanted to and respond to your concerns.

    You say that “occasionally the laptop can shake while Im typing”. Are you typing on the built-in keyboard on the notebook while its mounted to the arm?

    The notebook arm isn’t really designed to be used that way. The intention has always been that the user would use an external keyboard with the notebook while it is on the notebook arm. It would be not be ergonomic for the user to type on the notebook up so high from the desk and it would also limit the ability of the arm to be easily adjusted if it had to be stiff enough to type on.

    If you have any questions, please feel free to E-Mail me at rmcardle@ergotron.com.

    Again, thank you for your excellent review.

  2. Hey Albert.

    Thanks for the FYI.

    I’m not actually typing on the laptop. I’m typing on my desktop keyboard.

    The problem is that the reverb sometimes translates up the laptop arm.

    I wish there were a way to *lock* the arm in place.

    Possibly through a screw or hinge type mechanism.

    Thanks.






