Mint’s Top Down Thinking

Mint seems cool and all but:

CEO Aaron Patzer reports to us that, in just the past three weeks, Mint has already helped organize more than $2 billion worth of people’s personal financial accounts, and identified more than $40 million in potential savings for those members.

First. This is potential savings. Also. this works out to $500 per user. Saving $500 is great but if this is divided across ALL of my transactions the overhead might not be worth it.

That said, I’m not going to use Mint. Not because I don’t trust it but $500 isn’t worth entering my data into another service that the government could illegally monitor.


  1. muskie

    When I first saw this in my RSS feed I thought you were talking about Mint the webstats program. I’ve been using it for a long time and I’m pretty sure they don’t have my banking information. Their url has always been:

    http://www.haveamint.com

    Maybe these guys beat them to Mint.com…






