Give me Xohm or or Give me Death

Darn! I want Xohm by like – tomorrow. Now I have to wait six months until 2008. Not cool. I guess I’ll buy that EVDO Rev A card instead:

Sprint Nextel has given its upcoming WiMAX service a name and a web site (which will teach you how to pronounce “Xohm”). Sprint will launch the service in Chicago and Baltimore by year end, with a nationwide launch coming in spring 2008. The company said that it could ultimately spend $5 billion on Xohm by the end of the decade.

The company has taken some heat from the financial community over Xohm’s price tag, but Sprint is also optimistic over the potential for WiMAX. Sprint expects that the new service will bring in between $2.0 billion and $2.5 billion in revenues for fiscal year 2010 and that most of that growth will come from new lines of business. As a result, Xohm should be cashflow-positive starting in 2011.



