Dell Admit’s Mistakes

I’m with Chas on this one. Dell is growing up and joining the blogosphere:

Now’s not the time to mince words, so let me just say it… we blew it.

I’m referring to a recent blog post from an ex-Dell kiosk employee that received more attention after the Consumerist blogged about it, and even more still after we asked them to remove it.

In this case, I agree with what Jeff Jarvis had to say: instead of trying to control information that was made public, we should have simply corrected anything that was inaccurate. We didn’t do that, and now we’re paying for it.

Keep it up guys. You might just make me a customer again. (Seriously. I buy a lot of servers)


  1. Hi Kevin

    Just wanted to let you know we appreciate the feedback…we still make mistakes, but we live and learn in the blogosphere. The conversations with our customers at direct2dell, on blogs like this and the input at Ideastorm is both helpful and informative…and hopefully sometimes people gain a better understanding of where we come from too :-)

    again, wanted to drop by and say thank you…and we hope you will be a customer again






