Michael Moore Doesn’t Mind Piracy

Michael Moore is a smart guy. Having been attacked by conservatives for years, sticking to his guns is finally starting to pay off.

Apparently it’s paying off so well that he’s now part of the mainstream:

“Three years ago I was booed off the Oscar for daring to suggest that we were being led to war for fictitious reasons,” Moore said, recalling the night in 2003 when he accepted the Oscar for his documentary Bowling For Columbine and made headlines with an anti-war outburst that ended with the proclamation “Shame on you! Shame on you!” directed at President Bush. Moore said that today “70% of the country agrees with [that sentiment]. They don’t support Bush or the war. I am now in the mainstream majority, which is weird; I don’t sit out on the edge, I sit here.”

His new movie, Sicko, was leaked on the Internet the other day. The conventional Hollywood view is that this would destroy the movie release this weekend. I disagree of course. I think it’s good advertising.

… Moore seems to understand though:

Moore encouraged the gathered press to start making calls on the issue, and then added, with a conspiratorial smile: “Having said that, I’m glad people were able to see my movie. I’m not a big believer in our copyright laws, I find them way too restrictive.”


  1. David

    I can’t wait to see it. PLEASE ppl see it. I have worked in Hospitals and ambulances and ER’s and ICU’s for 13+ years. Ive seen horrible abuse, neglect. Medical Errors. Patient’s die. All because the Nurses can’t keep their mouth shut in the Medication rooms. They have talk about Desperative Housewives while they draw up lethal drugs. NOT good. If you guys only knew how REALLY unsafe Hospitals are.






