Stability and MySQL 5.1.18

The other day I blogged about the fact that I thought partitioning was broken in 5.1.18.

There does in fact appear a bug that was introduced somewhere between 5.1.17 and 5.1.18 which is causing MySQL to dump core.

I tried recompiling 5.1.18 from source and the problem remained. Installing a 5.1.17 source build fixed the problem and we’ve been online for almost 72 hours without a core dump. By way of comparison 5.1.18 wouldn’t stan up for more than a few hours.

I’m not sure I have a ton of time to debug the issue but I wanted to get the information out into the public.


  1. Hi,
    Is there any message in MySQL error log?

    Cheers

    Giuseppe

  2. You blink, and now you have 5.1.19 to add to the versions to test.

  3. Thank you for sharing.






