Migrating to WordPress.com

If you’re reading this blog post it means that I just successfuly migrated my blog from Typepad over to WordPress.com.

Why? Two main reasons really.

First – Akismet. I’m going to try to run with open comments for a while to see if it can handle the spam volume. I think the fact that I had to manually approve comments became a chilling effect for the community around my blog. No one posted because it sometimes took me six hours to get around to moderating their comment.

Second. There was just no innovation happening over on Typepad. I’ve had an account there for three years and they literally fixed nothing (from my perspective). Bugs that I reported three years ago (and that would hit me on a daily basis) remained in production the entire time.

Granted they’ve been doing a LOT of work on Vox but I just don’t use it.

Things I like about WordPress:

– The admin UI is really nice and well thought out. Typepad is horrible. It’s setup so that there are about 7 dimensions of nested folders.

– Worked with Ecto which is a major plus.

– They play fun tricks with their HTTP headers:

X-hacker: If you're reading this, you should visit automattic.com/jobs and apply to join the fun, mention this header.

– For every pageview I give them Barry and Matt get 1/300000th of a server.

Things I dislike about WordPress:

– No way to change my RSS auto-discovery URL. I could do that on Typepad just fine but I can’t do it on WordPress. That’s just a cardinal sin in the RSS world. This needs to be fixed because none of the RSS readers are going to use my Feedburner feed.

200705260057


  1. Hi Kevin

    Welcome to WordPress. I think FeedSmith will automatically and transparently redirect the standard WordPress feed (http://feedblog.org/feed/) back to your original Feedburner feed (http://feeds.feedburner.com/Feedblog)

    Another great feature of WordPress is that if some useful functionality isn’t in core, there is almost certainly a plugin available.

    Good luck – Andy

  2. Why didn’t you host WP? I’m sure you’ve got a few spare servers lying around…..

  3. Hey Everton….

    … because I’m lazy…….. :) I don’t want yet another app to maintain…






