New Blog Layout

I pushed a new blog layout for the Feedblog over the weekend.

Now an 800 width page with just two columns. No ads (they weren’t making any money – like none). Thinner UI to make commenting easier. Some SEO changes to allow Google to find permalinks easier.

Thoughts? I think it’s much better!


  1. I like it.

    I recently removed the ads from my site as well. They used to make money, but then it dwindled.

    Do you think all the various subscription buttons at the top of the page are helping grow your subscribers? I am just asking because I find them a little distracting.

  2. OK…. lets nix them. I tought that since this was an RSS site that it would be cool to have RSS buttons at the top but I kind of agree with you.

    Lets see what it looks like….

  3. OK…. lets nix them. I tought that since this was an RSS site that it would be cool to have RSS buttons at the top but I kind of agree with you.

    Lets see what it looks like….

  4. OK… gone… def better I think.

    Thanks Jackson.

    Kevin

  5. Oh wait… I’m going to put the feedburner chicklet somewhere I think….

  6. You should have a better callout for subscribing to your blog. You do call yourself “Feed Blog” but the FeedBurner subscription count might not be the subscription action visitors look for.

  7. I’ll just use a large 64×64 RSS icon…… That’s not a bad idea…

  8. hm……. How’s that? that’s 128×128…. I think it might be too big….

  9. Any reason for having a 128×128 pixels RSS button? :)

  10. Big improvement. To me, google ads *look* like spam – the more ads, the more it looks like spam. Removing them is a big win aesthetically. But yet, get rid of that orange blob…

  11. Hi

    What did you do to help Google find permalinks?

    Everton

  12. Everton.

    Google was getting confused with our category pages. It was indexing content on tailrank.com/mysql (which is the mysql category page) instead of the permalink.

    I’m noindexing those right now and I’m going to do another test to see it finds permalinks correctly.

    We’ll see.

  13. I’m interested by these observations that revenues from AdSense (or whatever ad provider you guys were using) are dwindling.

    Does this mean the wave of monetizing content with AdSense is over? Is this an ominous sign for the blogging world?

  14. In my case tech blogs don’t monetize very well…… the adsense targeting never worked since I blog about crazy/random topics (and adsense targeting in general is pathetic) and people never clicked the ads due to ad blindness.

    That and I’d never make enough money anyway to justify the ads.






