The Pirate Experience is Superior to iTunes.

Last month I purchased a season pass to the Daily Show from iTunes. At first I thought it would be easier than spending time downloading the shows via P2P.

Boy was I wrong. The DRM seriously killed the performance of my poor little powerbook and iTunes is a horrible movie player.

I think what I’m going to do is pay iTunes but still download the files and play them outside of iTunes. This is technically (probably) fair use and the DRM won’t crush my computer. I’m using mplayer rather than iTunes and it’s so much better at playing video it isn’t funny.


  1. Heck, that’s nothing compared to the gap between VLC and Windows Media Player.

  2. You are right about video. I think the iTunes experience is superior to the pirate experience for audio though.






