Fun with Distributed System Failure and Recovery Algorithms

I promised myself that I wouldn’t work today and instead catch up on my reading. I’m going through the Bigtable paper where I see a reference to the Paxos algorithm which I had not yet heard of.

I think this is amazingly funny:

I thought, and still think, that Paxos is an important algorithm. Inspired by my success at popularizing the consensus problem by describing it with Byzantine generals, I decided to cast the algorithm in terms of a parliament on an ancient Greek island. Leo Guibas suggested the name Paxos for the island. I gave the Greek legislators the names of computer scientists working in the field, transliterated with Guibas’s help into a bogus Greek dialect. (Peter Ladkin suggested the title.) Writing about a lost civilization allowed me to eliminate uninteresting details and indicate generalizations by saying that some details of the parliamentary protocol had been lost. To carry the image further, I gave a few lectures in the persona of an Indiana-Jones-style archaeologist, replete with Stetson hat and hip flask.

…..

The only problem is that it didn’t work:

My attempt at inserting some humor into the subject was a dismal failure. People who attended my lecture remembered Indiana Jones, but not the algorithm. People reading the paper apparently got so distracted by the Greek parable that they didn’t understand the algorithm. Among the people I sent the paper to, and who claimed to have read it, were Nancy Lynch, Vassos Hadzilacos, and Phil Bernstein. A couple of months later I emailed them the following question:

“Can you implement a distributed database that can tolerate the failure of any number of its processes (possibly all of them) without losing consistency, and that will resume normal behavior when more than half the processes are again working properly? ”

None of them noticed any connection between this question and the Paxos algorithm.

I’m going to have to dive into this a bit more. I’ve been looking for a decent mechanism to solve just this problem.



